Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy #1

Hello everyone! I am pretty excited today. I just started reading Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy. I just finished reading Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy. I have been delaying reading this book for so long. I did the same with City of Heavenly Fire. The Mortal Instruments books are my favorite books of all the Shadowhunters Chronicles books. Also,I’ve had a huge crush on Simon since I read City of Bones for the first time. Simon is my bae.I am absolutely crazy about him. Words can’t describe how I feel for him. Okay! Enough! So I decided to write reviews and my overall thoughts about each of these tales. I’ll keep posting as I read. Today I want to talk about Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy. It brought back so many feels,you guys. πŸ˜₯

(The following content contains major City of Heavenly Fire spoilers. Do not read ahead if you haven’t finished reading The Mortal Instruments series.)

I never really got over City of Heavenly Fire if I am being completely honest. I still feel pained every time I am reminded of COHF. It truly is the best TMI book according to me. I am still not over Simon losing his memories and Raphael and Jordan’s death. I even cried when Jonathan died. πŸ˜₯ It was just yesterday that I was on Instagram and I found a post(it went something like…”His eyes were green.”-where everyone cried.) and it brought back all the feels and I went cray all over again.  And honestly the only reason I’ve been delaying reading this book is because it is written from Simon’s POV. Simon means the world to me and reading his experiences from his point of view is going to break my heart even more. I wasn’t ready for it. But better late than never.

So let’s start off with the cover of the book.

TSA_cover.jpgI am not the biggest fan of this cover mostly because of the model on the cover. This is not how I envisioned Simon at all. I mean the guy’s hot but he is not my Simon. Put Alberto Rosende on the cover. πŸ˜› Don’t you think he is the cutest Simon ever? So adorable! Anyway moving on, I did not know that this book wasn’t written by Cassie alone. I do not know how I feel about it yet. I have to read all the tales first. I also found out that the audio book for Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy is actually read by Devon Bostick. I love his character in The 100. Come to think of it,give him a pair of glasses and he’d make a cute Simon. πŸ˜› Also,the physical copy of TFSA is coming out on November 15, 2016. Can’t wait!

 

22428828.jpg

So I started reading Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy a few hours ago. 2 pages in and I was all giggles. Simon does that to me. I felt happy and sad while reading it. I think I started crying when Simon goes to the Institute to say goodbye. The kind of mental turmoil he is in is just heart-wrenching. I hope he gets back his memories.  Also, I felt so sad for Isabelle. She is acting all tough but she is actually an emotional wreck within.

Fullscreen capture 6302016 123544 AM.bmp.jpg
Illustration by Cassandra Jean

“He just had to get through this one last good-bye,and then he would be away from them until he was better,until he was closer to the person they all wanted to see,then they would not be disappointed in him,and he would not be strange to them. He would belong.”

I loved all the other characters like Catarina,George and Dean Penhallow. Catarina is so funny.Are all warlocks this sassy and sarcastic? πŸ˜› First Magnus and now Catarina. It will be fun to read about her.I like George a lot. I hope he isn’t a quitter. πŸ˜› I want to read more about him.

“So stop talking about what a loser you are,because I wouldn’t follow a loser into a slime-covered bedroom or a slime-covered bathroom,and I’ve followed you into both..”

I loved the part when Izzy threatened the entire class of students to keep their hands off of Simon. Oh man! That was amazing! I love how unpredictable she can be. I literally died when I read it. Just what I was waiting for. Sizzy! I loved the exchange they had after that even though it was bit sad.

“a…a Lord Montgomery?You dated a member of the nobility?How am I ever going to compete with that?”

Isabelle still looked fond,but it was diluted with a good deal of impatience.”You’re Lord Montgomery,Simon.”

I was a little pissed with Simon after he drove Izzy away. This is definitely a first.I do not recall being ever pissed with Simon. You just cannot turn Isabelle Lightwood down like that.

All in all it was a short but great read. Looking forward to read The Lost Herondale. I hope I did not bore you with my rant. I just really,really love Simon and everything that Cassie writes. πŸ˜›
I’ll be posting again soon. Hope you are having a great day. Thank you for reading.

q6rryla9hdw2u8umifjx

 

 

Author: thebookishfae

Hello, fellow bibliophiles, I am Amrita. I like to read and write. I am a cat lover, wannabe Shadowhunter and an Engineering student. That's all about me. Let's talk books.

Leave a Reply

